1. Hi I'm a newbie addon developer and I'm running into some trouble understanding the SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS event. I wrote a short block of code that is supposed to detect when a specific spell is casted and then trigger a cooldown frame I set up. However, the event only triggers when the spell casted is an instant cast spell such as Corruption or Drain Soul. When I successfully cast a casted spell like Haunt or Shadow Bolt, the event doesn't trigger.

Can someone help me understand why SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS doesn't work for casted spells and what event I should be using instead?

Here is my code for reference:

function DispelBar_OnEvent(event,...)  
        local timeStamp, event, hideCaster, sourceGUID, sourceName, sourceFlags, sourceRaidFlags, destGUID, destName, destFlags, destRaidFlags = select(1,...)

if(event=="SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS") then
            local spellName = select(13,...)
            print("SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS"..": "..spellName)
            if(spellName == "Haunt") then
                CooldownFrame:SetCooldown(GetTime(), 10)
            end
        end
     end

In this example if I changed if(spellName == "Haunt") to an instant cast spell like if(spellName == "Corruption") then it works.

Thanks for all help in advance and let me know if I need to clarify anything.

2. That event just isn't used for those sorts of spells.

Run /eventtrace

Cast a spell (do this all in a zone without lots of people, or you'll get lots of events). See what events fire, then use those =)

3. Thanks a lot for the etrace command, I didn't know it existed! With it I found UNIT_SPELLCAST_SUCCEEDED which seems to do the job thank you.

From looking at the documentation, I couldn't tell that SPELL_CAST_SUCCEEDED was the wrong event to use, how would I be able to discern this in the future?

4. Run /eventtrace, just like you did there. That'll show you the actual events that are happening.