1. I have a frame created via XML and I'm trying to dynamically create class icons as childs using a loop in LUA. For some reason I can't get anything to show up. I've also tried just doing a single texture and a single font string. I get no LUA errors but the texture/fontstring just doesn't show up.

The code that I'm using is just sitting in the .lua file (not in a function). Here's an example of what I've tried. LRAMainSpec being the XML frame.

local initialX, initialY = "32", "32"     
     local classicon = LRAMainSpec:CreateTexture(nil, "ARTWORK")
     classicon:SetSize(32, 32)
     classicon:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", nil, nil, initialX, initialY)
     local _, class = UnitClass("player")
     local coords = CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS[class]
     classicon:SetTexture("Interface\\GLUES\\CHARACTERCREATE\\UI-CHARACTERCREATE-CLASSES")
     classicon:SetTexCoord(unpack(coords))

I'm very new to addon development so any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. I finally got the texture to show but creating a frame for it using LUA. When creating a texture in LUA will I always have to create a frame for it before hand in LUA?

Also even with the LUA created frame, I can't seem to child it to any of the frames that I created via XML.

3. Why are you sending two nils for the SetPoint calls. Those really have to be set. The first is the frame that you're anchoring to, and the second is the point on that frame you want to anchor to. Use them =)

4. Does it not work like XML where they can be omitted?

Where realtivePoint defaults to what point is set to and relativeTo defaults to the parent (Which should be LRAMainSpec as I'm calling LRAMainSpec:CreateTexture()).

5. Here's the code I use in Trav's Unit Frame Extensions, expanded a bit, using PlayerFrame as an example:

local f = CreateFrame("Frame", "$parentClass", PlayerFrame)
     f:SetFrameStrata("MEDIUM")
     f:SetWidth(32)
     f:SetHeight(32)
     local t = f:CreateTexture("$parentIcon", "BACKGROUND")