1. Hello,

I'm pretty new to all of this, but I have some good starter add-ons running (with buttons, slash-commands, etc.).

I'm trying to add (either free-standing or within an existing addon) a MovieFrame... I've checked out the documentation page and followed every citation on the webs I can find (not many). It's possible that I'm missing something braindead simple about creating frames in general. Does anyone see what's wrong with this code snippet?

function MovieTest:OnEnable()
        CreateFrame("MovieFrame", "myMovie", UIParent)
        StartMovie("Interface\\AddOns\\MovieTest\\WOW_Intro_LK_800.avi")
     end

TIA, SteveO

2. The first thing you should do is enable Lua errors, since your code will be causing one and you should catch it and be aware of it. Second, add some print statements to make sure your OnEnable is even being called (it won't be unless you're calling it somehow, from the code I have to look at).

Mainly, the StartMovie function is not a global function, it is a method. So you must call it on the movie frame. In your example that means myMovie:StartMovie() not just StartMovie().

3. Thanks for the quick reply! You're right about the lack of troubleshooting tools in that little snippet. I had tried to create the simplest possible thing to narrow down the problem.

Here's the frame in my main addon. I deleted all the other functionality of the frame -- it's just supposed to launch a movie file upon receiving a CHATMSGADDON with the appropriate prefix. The "print" in the if statement (print("Try to launch video")) does show up in the default chat window, so I know the logic is working that far, and the AVI file referenced is both in the addon's directory and in the TOC. But no video...

local f = CreateFrame("Frame")
     f:RegisterEvent("CHAT_MSG_ADDON")
     f:SetScript("OnEvent", function(self, event, prefix, msg, channel, sender)
      if prefix == "SsRv1" then
       if msg == "playmedia1" then
        print("Try to launch video")