1. I'm an experienced programmer, just not so much in the Wow field. I've had a sudden need for an addon and I can't find anything that can do what I want, so I've started learning the language and it's really not super complicated. I just have a few questions.

There an addon called Healers Have to Die. It does something similar to what I want to do, I want to be able to change individuals name plates on the fly and adjust them as needed. I was just wondering how I would be able to hook onto a specific name plate(preferably based on UNITID) and append some information to that specific nameplate.

Also, the ability to clear it back to what it looked like before would also be nice.

TL;DR. Simple way to hook onto a nameplate and append information to it.(or just an image etc would be nice)

2. I'm an experienced programmer, just not so much in the Wow field. I've had a sudden need for an addon and I can't find anything that can do what I want, so I've started learning the language and it's really not super complicated. I just have a few questions.

There an addon called Healers Have to Die. It does something similar to what I want to do, I want to be able to change individuals name plates on the fly and adjust them as needed. I was just wondering how I would be able to hook onto a specific name plate(preferably based on UNITID) and append some information to that specific nameplate.

Also, the ability to clear it back to what it looked like before would also be nice.

TL;DR. Simple way to hook onto a nameplate and append information to it.(or just an image etc would be nice)