1. I am kinda new to this all, but i wanna learn how i can make some simple addons .. so maybe in future maybe even i can contribute with idea's, advice or handson-addons to help the community.

Since you learn best by example I would like to ask if someone could make me a simple snippet (incl. TOC, XML and LUA code) that does the following:

When i cast a certain spell (for instance: DEATH GRIP or WINDSHEAR) i would like to see a info/warning-text (like DMB-warning) in the middle of my screen for 1 or 2 seconds saying: -- in RED TEXT-color: YOUR DEATH GRIP missed!! -- in BLUE TEXT-color: YOUR DEATH GRIPPED: <name mob>

Some people already made some parts of the ability i would like, so i didnt invent the code below (if the didnt invent i am sorry if i insult someone :( )

TOC-CODE? note -- dunno what code to put in :(

XML-CODE? (with tnx to l3gsh0t here @wow-programming) note -- see FadingTextFrame

LUA-code: (with tnx to TREESTON @mmo-champion) note -- the else part isnt defined, dunno how :(

local a = CreateFrame("Frame")
     a:SetScript("OnEvent", function(self, event, ...)
      self.pguid = self.pguid or UnitGUID("player")
      local arg = {...}
      if arg[2] == "SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS" and arg[10] == "Death Grip" and arg[3]==self.pguid then
       SendChatMessage("Taunted: "..arg[7], "YELL")
      end
     end)
     a:RegisterEvent("COMBAT_LOG_EVENT_UNFILTERED")

WOULD BE REALLY GREATFULL IF ANYONE COULD HELP ME OUT HERE SO I CAN LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS WONDERFULL WORLD OF WOW-PROGRAMMING!!

Kind regards

2. I'm not sure how to help you. The basics of creating an addon are covered in the first few chapters of the book. The code you linked as the XML actually needs to go in your Lua file. Also you don't really ask any specific questions. Unfortunately, I'm happy to see any questions that you have, but unfortunately don't have much time to try and make things work on my own.

Let me know!