1. Hey guys!

I'm somewhat new to addon creation, and I've encountered a little problem. I've reinstalled my windows and currently using default UI, but I've made myself a small unitframe, as the default playerframe is way to far from the actionbars, and as a fury warrior, I have to see my current rage almost every second.

The problem with it, is that I used OnEvent script with UNIT_POWER, and its kinda laggy. The default playerframe shows my rage decrease as: 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 0.

With the OnEvent script my frame shows it as: ..(zZz)..7..(zZz)..5..(zZz)..3..(zZz)..1 In some cases it even stucks on 1 (when I have 0), until my rage changes again.

I was sure it's not about one more statusbar shown on screen, as it doesn't use as much resource to make it laggy. However, I tried this: I removed everything from the lua (well only made it a comment --[[ ), and what was remeaning is a frame, the OnEvent script, and the handler for it. The handler function printed my current rage to the chatframe, nothin else, and the result was the same: 7..5..3..1..

I've solved the problem by switching to OnUpdate on the frame, but I think it will use too much resource when I will make the whole raidframes with power and health bars.

The questions I'd like to be answered are: what causes the events to be laggy? How can it be solved? If I use OnUpdate, will it use much more CPU when there will be raidframes using OnUpdate too (instead of OnEvent)?

2. I would use the OnUpdate with a flag to see if the "power" has changed or not

i.e.

local oldValue

function bla(...)
       if (oldValue == newValue)
         return

do something...
     end

event lag issue:

I dont know it for sure

Maybe the UNIT_POWER Event ist thrown every x seconds and your power changes every x milliseconds.

3. Hey guys!