1. First ... I hope all is well with your health issues.

Secondly ... bare with me as I am new to all this.

I am creating a addon that reports information about the units in the surrounding area. I am using COMBAT_LOG event entries as a mechanism to determine the units in the surrounding area. Unfortunately the COMBAT_LOG events only returns GUID and almost all information API calls use UnitID.

One example is health. If I want to get the health of all mobs around (i.e. affecting combat) regardless of whether they are targeted ... the only way I can think of to do this is to ...

• Monitor the COMBAT_LOG events ... adding and removing GUIDs as appropriate. Yes I will also need another mechanism to purge GUIDs that die/leave combat log range, but thats not the issue here.
    • For each GUID found above loop through all of the known units (player, taret, targettarget, party1target, etc.) ... use UnitGUID on the UnitID to get a GUID for comparison ... and then if a match is found use that unitID to get health via UnitHealth().

This is clearly not ideal because it will only update the health for those units that have a UnitID.

I guess another way to ask the question is there a way to obtain the health of a unit given only the GUID of the unit?

Any help/alternatives would be appreciated.

Thanks, G

2. I am creating a addon that reports information about the units in the surrounding area. I am using COMBAT_LOG event entries as a mechanism to determine the units in the surrounding area. Unfortunately the COMBAT_LOG events only returns GUID and almost all information API calls use UnitID.

One example is health. If I want to get the health of all mobs around (i.e. affecting combat) regardless of whether they are targeted ... the only way I can think of to do this is to ...

• Monitor the COMBAT_LOG events ... adding and removing GUIDs as appropriate. Yes I will also need another mechanism to purge GUIDs that die/leave combat log range, but thats not the issue here.