1. Hello. I'm very new to the WoW API. I have an O.K. understanding of how most programming languages' syntax and structure work but I would still consider myself a novice. I was hoping that this community would be able to help me out with a small personal project for me and my friends. Although if I can get a really good understanding of this I might remake Gag and release it.

I'm trying to modify the Gag addon (http://wowui.incgamers.com/?p=mod&m=6195). The addon is currently outdated but works fine as long as the Ace2 library is installed. Gag plays specific sounds when called with the proper slash commands for other people with Gag in /say or /emote proximity. It tries to enhance emotes. The thing is, I don't want it to only output to the say/emote channel. I want it to output to the guild or party channels, even if the players are not within say/emote proximity.

I'm pretty lost. I've been looking through the code from the .lua for days now, still to no prevail. I've gotten to know the WoW API a little better by doing this but I still don't know what the best way is to go about achieving what I want.

If anyone could look at the source and help me out I would be very grateful.

2. If it can send to the SAY channel, that means it's using the SendChatMessage() function. You can view the API documentation for that function, and you should be able to alter it to send to another channel instead of SAY.

3. If it can send to the SAY channel, that means it's using the SendChatMessage() function. You can view the API documentation for that function, and you should be able to alter it to send to another channel instead of SAY.

I was on to something about that the other day. I found the SendChatMessage() function in two areas, both outputting to the say and emote channels. I tried changing the output channel to guild but doing so simply causes Gag to stop working completely, and not play any sounds when called :/.