1. so I am a complete newcomer to programming. I tried learning python via a wiki but got bored as i was not doing anything interactive. so I saw this book and thought I would give it a go. so Im already stuck in the first chapter (like I said Im a noob and there may be many questions from me depending on how long I last before being demoralized). at the heythere addon part i did everything the book says..or so i thought. but i cant see the addon in my addon list. i did save it where all my other addons are and they show up? if it helps im running windows 7. and when i open the heythere file in the addons folder the 2 documents that I made show up as text files which is different than the one i downloaded from your website titled the same (which also doesnt work). Im not sure what im doing wrong... I have not downloaded lua or anything yet but it doesnt say anything about that until 1.2 so I thought I would be safe. Ive looked for this topic in the forums but it would appear that I am only one having issue with this :(

Also when I say the addon does not show up im talkin about in game when I am supposed to click which addons I want to enable before I "enter world" with my character

2. Also I should add that I used windows notepad to write the 2 documents

3. Ok so I have rechecked the heythere folder that I downloaded from your website and realized that when I extracted it into my addon folder its had the original? folder. SO basically I took the "heythere" folder that was inside and put it directly into my addon folder and got rid of the other one ( I guess the zip file)..anyway that worked, but I still havent got the one I wrote to work. but im guessing that has something to do with the different file types. like I said mine are text documents and the ones from the website are lua and toc file types... so yea perhaps you can see the extent to which I dont understand..because even knowing that I STILL dont know what to do.