1. hey everyone need a little advice. Just bought the second edition of the book and need a little bit of advice already. I am brand new to programming. I've seen it but i've never typed or written any code. I've been playing wow for a few months after it came out. I use alot of addons and picked up the book because i was interested in how they were developed and written and such.

Anyhow on to the question. In the first addon the text talks about writing is the HeyThere one. Now in the book its in like paragraph form, however, i downloaded the addon off the site and its all smashed together. Are you supposed to type it this way? Also i have tried typing it exactly like the one off the website and it still does not work. Its word for word, space for space, capital letters and all. Still nothing. When i copy the addon files off the site and just use those it works as depicted. So, how do you determine the spaces and such when reading code? They look like its just tabbed between strings but i counted it and its 4 spaces then 8 spaces for the If then else statements.

Like i said i have zero knowledge about coding but am trying to learn. I will post better examples if need be.

2. hey everyone need a little advice. Just bought the second edition of the book and need a little bit of advice already. I am brand new to programming. I've seen it but i've never typed or written any code. I've been playing wow for a few months after it came out. I use alot of addons and picked up the book because i was interested in how they were developed and written and such.